Monday, July 14, 2014

Deutschland Weltmeister 2014

-not reviews and hauls today, let's explore my non-girly side-

I remember when I was 8, my dad would stay up late watching the World Cup. Without asking, I know if there's any kind of event where all the countries in the world are competing, his heart would be with Germany. He didn't miss any of their games, so when I curiously sit next to him, I would see strangers in white jersey running around chasing a ball.

I remember the excitement declared through his voice as he screams "Goalll!!" or "Torrr!!", the glittering passion through the eyes of the audience, the pride projected off the players' mute scream, silent, unheard through the cheering of hundreds of thousands. I remember wanting to understand why.

I asked my dad a lot of questions, and sometimes, he just loves explaining things to people without being asked. Which, although now seems like the most obnoxious thing, was very helpful when I was younger. He told me that the German loves a good concrete system, they don't like counting on luck. I fell in love with the game, and even more with the team my father highly regards.

One of the first games I remember watching during 2002 World Cup, my dad was saying something about someone with a difficult last name, being his favorite. I scanned through the players and I pointed at one young man wearing number 11, Miroslav Klose, I told my dad, "Him, number 11, that's my favorite!" I think my dad laughed at how I don't have a legitimate reason to favor this Klose person, but that's it, he's my favorite, I'll stick with my words. I parade around his name at school the next day, partly because I couldn't remember any other names of the other German players.

Klo-se

Until I fully understood Football/Soccer, that's the only name I'd mention if anyone ask me who my favorite footballer is. Strangely, the more I understand the game, the more I admire him. From being 8, to 12 -when I started playing football/soccer, to 16 -when I was captain for my school's girls football/soccer team-, and now 20, there are numbers of players I had come to like, admire, fangirled for and forget, but one name stays on my top 2 at all time; his.

Last night, I stayed up from 2 - 6 AM, though I have not one, but two exams today. I know I wouldn't be able to miss my favorite team finally being on the final again, after 12 years. I screeched with pride as the final whistle was blown, declaring their status as the World-champion.
There's something a little bigger than pride, to finally see those "strangers in white jersey" raised the glorious trophy above their head, passing it on from one to another, as if to assure themselves that this wasn't a dream. It's crazy, how I don't know them, nor are they representing MY country, but until my own can step up and play in World Cup, Germany will always be my team.

If it's true that last night's game is Miro's last international game defending Der Panzer, I would like to thank him. For inspiring me and unknowingly showing me more than the greatness that is this universal game, but also passion, the fact that 12 years ago, people would ask me who he was and from which team. Today, you'd have to be massively pretentious if you say you like the game but don't know who he is. From zero to hero,
the man I randomly chose now holds the world record of the most goals on world cup tournament!
You'll always be my favorite player, Danke für Alles, Miro!

x, Nessie

Monday, June 23, 2014

Politics, Busy Week & 1K


A little hello from me,

Amidst the chaotic ignorance surfacing through the warmth of Indonesia's tropical ambiance leading to the upcoming Indonesia's Presidential Election, I for once, (almost) do not parade around my choice voluntarily (with over-exaggerated alacrity.)
Do I have a choice? You betcha. 
Do I have a problem if the other wins? No, I personally don't. I would much rather have Jokowi-JK win, but I do respect Indonesia if it's chosen to think otherwise. After all, with support, prayer and love, I hope we can send positive vibes to the big men sitting in big chairs running our beloved country. 
It's unhealthy to have an anathema, especially not someone who has your whole country in his hand.

So, that's quite brusque considering Indonesia's going through what feels like a political battlefield right now, with 2 VERSIONS of posters, billboards and flyers in the corner of your eyes every possible angle you can possibly roll your eyeballs to. Friends become foe, family fights, I just can't seem to fathom people who aggressively offends and defends, what's the point of the black campaign and calumny, guys, one of these guys WILL BE OUR PRESIDENT.

Okay, enough of that political shiz.

I woke up one morning around last week to this:

1,000 SUBABIES! 
I haven't been able to grasp why anyone would watch any of my videos at all. I just enjoy making them and I enjoy watching people interact on the comment section. '120,000 views' means my videos have been watched 120,000 times in total. WHAT.
They are like ...real people, like..BOOM! mind blown! 
Thank you, if you are one of those who have joined crossing to the dark side muahaha *evil laugh*.
I am excited to do better, fun stuff on my channel with you!

I've had a crazy week and an even more mental weekend!
(on the way to Electro Run)
I volunteered for Electro Run last weekend and still am knackered. My cupidity for a great wild free-spirited experience granted me a spot on the refreshment booth, or as I like to call it: wait-what-i-didn't-sign-up-for-the-hardest-job-here, preparing drinks for 11,000 thirsty people eager to flood their belly with drinks. 

The race started at 7 pm, but myself and 19 other people started stacking drinks at 5/6, I'm not even sure. It succeeded wiping my whole make up off, leaving a little bit of eyeliner which I cherished with my whole heart. 
It was such a cool event regardless, I was so glad I got to be a part of it!
Anyways, 
I redesigned this whole blog in attempt to start writing again after a hiatus that feels like an eternity. I get bored of things so easily, I constantly need changes, I 100% need it. 
So here's to a restart, and first 1k of www.youtube.com/NessieJudge !
Thank YOU!

x, Nessie





Saturday, May 17, 2014

Super Easy Aglio Olio Recipe


Hello friends!,
It's a messy hair and dark lips sort of day, I'm not complaining.
I just got off mid-terms for the five subjects I have this semester; Thought Leadership, International Business, Project Management, Supply Chain, and Statistics. (Yes, they are in order from the one I can (still) tolerate to the ones that make me want to jump off a bridge.)

Friends, I miss my friends. Being at University is okay, but the less school days you have = the less time you spend with your friends = the less bond you have with them. Some people are family oriented, well, I'm not. I'm one of those freaks who build tension whenever I'm around more than one family member. I'm avoiding fights because it's unhealthy, so I've been alone most of the time.

Being alone can be good though, right?
Not for me, it's not.
Thank god blood is thicker than water, my cousin, Shahnaz, comes to hang out with us every weekend and we now try to be somewhat productive and adventurous on weekends and try to do new things to make our life interesting without having to go through 4 hours of traffic to go to the city and do nothing at malls.

We tried to make Aglio Olio pasta, God knows why.
it was extremely simple to make and tasted amazing!
all you need: 
+ Pasta
+ Virgin Olive Oil
+ Mushroom
+ Garlic
+ Red Pepper/Chili
+ Italian Parsley Leaves
+ Salt & friends (optional)
Recipe: 
1. Chop all the garlic, mushroom, chili, and Italian Parsley leaves! Chop all of 'em!
2. Boil some water and cook da pasta (drop it like it's hot uyeeaahh)
3. As you age and wait for the pasta, put the debris of things you've chopped earlier on a frying-pan and fry them with the virgin oil!
4. Lastly, put the cooked pasta on the frying-pan too and cook them together, add salt and more oil according to how wet you want it to be. (that's what she said. wait. what.)
taraaaaaaa,

Maan, I thought I sucked at cooking, I'm even worse at writing recipes. Trust me though, 
THIS WAS DELICIOUS! (and as easy as an Italian food can get.)

What's your favorite easy-peasy-recipe ?
I need to try making them too!

x, Nessie