Monday, October 13, 2014

" Monday morning,  
you've had tears running down your cheek, 
honey don't let it destroy your entire week, 
little did you know, it was gonna be sick, 
so don't you ruin it for some random dick. "

greetings from me,
it's Monday morning, I'm writing this during the break of Operation Management class, it's become sort of a habit for me isn't it, writing during class break?
I had a rather interesting weekend, which others would refer to as "normal weekend", but anything other than sitting in my room is preferred.
I went to another running event, as participant and not volunteer this time, with 4 other friends (yes, Tan is one of them. of. effin'. course. like this blog hasn't had enough of her face in it. haha! kidding!)
The running part was awful, -we were basically running among vehicles- but the rave party was fun.
THE NEXT MORNING THOUGH,
I woke up early on my friend's couch, Tan was in the bedroom and after an hour of stretching, half-an-hour of complaining and another hour of TV, we left the apartment in attempt to find breakfast.
We settled in one of the only few cafés that were open and although it's pretty (and photogenic) it just felt really silly when you think about how, today, we spend more time taking photos of our food than actually eating it, then we spend more time thinking which one is good enough that we forget to enjoy it.

I mean, if you actually enjoy food-photography it's awesome, and if it makes you happy, then do it!
but it's sort of sad if you go to places you can barely afford just to impress people you barely like. 
just do what makes you happy, 
don't be pressured to have manufactured objectives the society demands. 
eat what you like, do what you like, what's good for you, whether they're instagram-worthy or not. 
"with enough coffee, I could rule the world."
precisely,
I just happen to like Coffee very much, this particular one was delicious too.

x, Nessie







Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Being in University and Fun Things

Ola, friends!

Now, I know I haven't been around, juggling between personal life, Youtube & School is tough!
Talking about School (University to be exact but I go to business school, so I'm allowed to call it school, teehee), I feel like in Indonesia, going to University is still something people value very much, which is utterly great. In other countries with social/monetary security (like USA), people tend to think they should just work right away, because University isn't worth the money they will get afterwards. In Indonesia, to secure your place in the globalized country with tough competition, you need more than just passion for your work.
University here varies in prices too, I'm sure you, reading this, can afford one.
I fully support post-highschool study, I think it's important to enhance your skills, and ayee, University isn't so bad either! These are things that make it different than High School:
1. You have your group of friends and aren't pressured to befriend anyone you don't like because everyone is doing their own thing, you're likely to find people with the same interest.
2. Professor don't chase you around for homework like teachers do.
3. Nor do they care if you missed a class.
4. You are responsible for your own time management, whether it is about studying, being late or missing class. 
5. There isn't a set schedule from 7.00 to 16.00 every single day.
6. It also means you easily lie about work schedule to your parents (oops!)
7. Hanging out on school nights are also possible! (;
8. College kids are hella stingy, you'll learn to save your money to the cents too!
9. You'll be surrounded by people with the same interest with you at ALL TIME.
10. Professors don't treat you like children at all, no matter how young you are!
11. INTERNSHIPS! (<- so nerve-wracking but very very fun!)
12. You're an adult now, concentrate on your favorite things because you don't have to care about irrelevant subjects you MUST take back in High School!


SOME FUN THINGS TO DO WITH YOUR UNI FRIENDS!
(party, volunteering for flood victims, music fesitval, dinner with CEO, beach getaway, MetroTV studio, meeting the one and only Najwa Shihab (I also met Joko Anwar that night!), trip to Singapore, Unilever Indonesia company visit, shooting advertisement, running orientation for new students, bowling!)

As you may know, I go to a Business School despite my massive interest in the entertainment and fashion industry, I figure sometimes you should highlight what you need instead of what you want, and balances the best of both world. That's sort of the basis of what made me choose my degree. Choosing a degree isn't easy, for me to finally chose mine required a lot of sleepless nights, tears and screaming (oh, trust me, I'm not exaggerating!) 

Guys, trust me, I get your fear of choosing the wrong thing and being stuck with it, I recommend you to go see someone non-bias (not your parents, because they have expectations!) like online counseling or at school, join seminars and keep an open-mind. 
Also, join events such as this upcoming UNSW Open Days in Indonesia & Singapore which could help you decide on one of the most exciting experiences of your life. Check out this >> VIDEO << to learn more about what it is and when the event is.

All and all, I wish you the best of luck, 
share this post with anyone who needs it and encourage everyone to keep studying, 
we're never too old or young to spare our time for education! Xxx

x, Nessie

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Summer Accessories Haul!

Hello lovely people!
Nessie here, overly depressed she hasn't been able to upload the video made since last saturday due to unreliable internet connection during holiday. First world problem!!
Although uploading a video just apparently isn't happening with my poor iPhone personal hotspot, I manage to still go online (just not upload any video :( ) 
I WENT ACCESSORIES SHOPPING!
Summer has not completely been only summer this time due to the clash of the season holiday and a religious holiday, I put aside bathing suites and shorts shopping this time and purchased some jewelries and sunnies instead. 
Again, I turned to Diva for most of my cheap-no-worries accessories, and to my dad's company for a high-end gem stones and (more) expensive beads jewelries. BUT who needs expensive stuff on a vacation? I don't. I'd rather bring those I won't regret when losing. 

1. Headband - Diva (US$ 15.95 | Rp 185.000,-)
whAT THE HECK IS THAT?! oh that's a hairband with spikes and roses on them. Why did I get it? I don't know, it just looks really good on my hair and I thought it makes me look extra bad-ass.
2. Hoop Earrings with Crystals - Diva (unknown)
These are also from Diva, I just lost the tag (thus the unknown price.) I just thought these would look a little fancy if there's any big celebration or party I'll be invited to. Besides, it would compliment your summer-tan-glow perfectly.
3. 'Imagine' Bangle - Diva (US$ 5.18 | Rp 60.000,-)
If you knew me personally, you'd know that I'm a big Beatles fan, and all of its members, dead or alive. I have performed this John Lennon's hit before and I love the lyrics, like..it speaks to me, if that makes sense. I just had to get it.. 
4. A 'Bohemian' style Ring-Bracelet (US$ 12.85 | Rp. 149.000,-)
I don't exactly know if this is bohemian-like, but it looks hippie-like to me too, I just think it's adorable!
5. Flower Sunnies (unknown)
My sister got this for me during her recent trip to Singapore. This doesn't have a brand, she said she got it at a bazaar or a festival or something. I haven't got any with this style, I'll treasure it!
6. MEET MY NEWEST FAVORITE SUNNIES! 
These are Cheap Monday Psychometrie Sunnies! I was unable to find this particular sunnies on the Website anymore, but a store online sold it and this one just caught my attention. I always find Wayfarers complimenting to my facial shape, but I don't have one that is good quality. Most of my sunnies are from H&M, Accessorize and all those inexpensive but so-so-quality brands. This is relatively the same prize as Accessorize's but when I get ahold of the product, it is incredible! very well made, the quality is a lot similar to Rayban's, the screws are tight and it feels really good sitting on your nose, just a really nice quality sunglasses. I thought it's about time I get one good Wayfarer as I wait for my dad's old RayBan to get fixed. :)
7. Pink Wayfarer - Accesorize (14.90 | Rp. 360.000,-)
As I said, most of my sunnies that I switch around and swim with without hesitations are these kinds, I saw this and thought that I haven't gotten one in this colour though I've been adoring soft pastel colours lately. So I got these pair! 
8.Simple Black Hoop Earrings - Diva (US$ 3.99 | Rp. 45.000,-)
I had a pair of these exact same style of Earrings back in High School, sadly I lost one! They suit almost every kind of clothing, events and seasons. Can't go wrong with a little black hoop earring!
9. Studs! - Diva (US$ 2.58 | Rp. 30.000,-)
The biggest, best find of the day! These were on sale and for someone with 10 piercings, this was DIVINE! Do I have the patience to change them up? probably not, but I'll give it a shot!!
I also got myself pairs of feet-companions for the holiday!
Above are colourful flats from The Little Things She Needs which were on a one-day-sale given to everyone participating in Presidential Election (Chinggg! I was more than willing to show off my blue-marked pinky!) I think they're about 20 bucks? I don't remember!
Below are a pair of hippie-like Brash Wedges which I've been eyeing for sooo long! I finally got it!
I think that these are really good finds and I'm very happy with each.. Although I don't know if I would've purchased the pink Accessorize Sunnies if I had gotten my hands on the Cheap Monday one first! I will try to make the best use of everything!

What are your most exciting recent purchase(s)? 
I'd love to know!
x, Nessie