Saturday, August 29, 2015

Clea Tea Bar Kemang

Good morning, at the moment I'm writing this, it is precisely 3.45 AM on a Sunday.
I have been great, busy but great.
Amongst holiday, I've kept myself entertained with Group Field Project meetings and some socializing, today I went to a job fair to see how competitive people are in finding jobs.
Whilst it seems like most jobs applications are filled with semi-excited-semi-desperate people who looks for sources of income, it's heartwarming to know that more and more of my countrymen have degrees and are able to work using more of their brain and less of their muscles.

After the job fair, Bram and I wanted to sit and talk, but instead of going to malls which we've grown tired of, we decided to sit for tea or coffee. We came across a lovely Tea Bar called Clea in Kemang.
I have been obsessed with roses since birth (my name itself means "White Rose"), so I couldn't be more excited!
We sat and discussed the job fair, good places to work in, studies, etc amidst the scent of roses,
what more could I ask for?








Loved the place!
Need to visit more of these and less of malls, if I'm honest (:


Friday, August 14, 2015

Fascinating Bandung

Greetings,
FIRST OF ALL, 
READ MY LAST POST BEFORE READING THIS:

HELLO friends! I was out of my mind frustrated this past month during holiday, because this holiday happens to combine both semester break and Ied Holiday.

So I told my friend Vanya "Minyo" Qinthara that I will be coming to Bandung to do a video with her and to refresh my mind. She, being the sweetheart that she is, was ecstatic to have me come over.

So, we've decided to film together because we've planned it in forever, and I just really need to explore Bandung which I have not visited in like 7 years at least.

PLUS, my bf was also in town, staying at his friend's house for work purposes,
so he came to join us sight-seeing and driving us to these cool places..

You're either going, "yeah right, gitu doang, that's normal even if you two are staying together, this is 2015" or "what, omg they went on a holiday together" or "BOO YOU WHORE." and it's okay,
I respect your point of view, please be fair and respect mine.

But, I am an Internet person, I do share my life with you all, and 
Here's my trip to the gorgeous, inspiring Bandung.

Let's start with this conceptual cafe, Widely Project.
It's a nice hipster place with a cool distro that sells artistic Indonesian things..
The coffee wasn't so expensive either, you can get a glass of Machiatto for about 33,000
Shirt: Zara
Jeans: Forever 21
Sling Bag: Vierzehn

We also went to this shockingly, stunning, mind-boggling place called Lawangwangi,
which is an art gallery, my absolute happy place.
I can't get over how beautiful this place is.
this cutie pie though >.<
AND THEN (getting super excited),
We went to a bird cafe (?) called Day & Nite.. it's got such an interesting concept!
It's got birds all over it, and some aren't caged and they stay in place being happy and chirping and I LOVE THEEEEEM! also, THEY HAVE FLUFFY BUNNIES.
aaaaaaaaaaaahhh! secute!
Love these girls! such moodboosters! <3

And then my cousin, Kak Kemal also cooked some dinner in his house for me whilst I was there!
It was so much funnn!
I am an avid Bebek Goreng lover,
I will one day elaborate my love for Bebek Pak Slamet (cabang Solo yang asli) and then I was introduced to this lovely restaurant called Bebek Kaleyo, with competing taste and lovely service.
So overall, 
I'd give this trip 10/10..
I can't wait to go back! 

Have you been to Bandung? 
tell me what other great places I should visit!

love, 



T H O U G H T S .

First of all, I'd like to say 'hello', I have been away for a long time and it saddens me, I used to write a lot, I loved writing. But for last few months, I feel like I feel so pressured to share everything.

I don't mind strangers, readers or viewers knowing my stories, but as my channel grows, distant relatives too, get to know my online activities and it's frustrating because I don't share the same values with them and I wouldn't care what they say, but if it affects my inner ring-one, then I'd care.

So much prejudice, so much expectations here, and so many people who like twisting things around.

So I decided that I won't link some posts to my Google+, but if you happen to stumble across this, please read with an open mind and don't twist anything around.

I was out of my mind frustrated this past month during holiday, because this holiday happens to combine both semester break and Ied Holiday. I had to go through so much of "when are you getting married"s and the 'why does your daughter look so westernized' looks from family members, and it's hella patronizing despite not knowing how strongly I hold my own values, people would still judge.

I am 21 years old.

There are so much things in life that I don't know, that I will later weep and learn, but you can't expect me to close my mind to things that I have been educated on and seen so far.

Do I think like a westerner? yeah, on some things I guess.
don't expect me to agree to shit like girls get married and stay home and make babies and take care of them and cook and wash dishes and have sex just for their men. HELL FUCKING NO.

If girls want to work, earn better than their partner, hold off having kids for personal success, WHY NOT? if someone had an 'accident' and they need an abortion because they're not ready, and it would hold them off, then fucking do it. If a female person wants to have sex outside of marriage, for their own benefit, then I don't mind because it doesn't affect me AT ALL, does it make them a whore? NO DUDE, if you think that, then your place isn't here, go back to 1940.

Do I hold on to my (preferred) eastern values? YES.
Personally, I really don't have an obligation to share this, but I think I should, so that small minded people would understand.

I have promised me to save myself for marriage.
Not because I value a worthless thin skin called Hymen inside my vagina.
BUT I RESPECT MY GOD and MY "FIRST TIME".
If what's worthless to me might mean a little something to someone I'll be spending the rest of my life with, then I'll save it for them as a little present.

BUT I PROMISE YOU, IF A POTENTIAL LIFE PARTNER EVER ASKS ME IF I WAS A VIRGIN BEFORE ASKING MY HAND IN MARRIAGE, I WILL SLAP THEM AND WALK AWAY AS FAST AS I COULD. 

Now, here's the potential FUCK YOU, YOU DEVIL WORSHIPER WESTERNIZED INDONESIAN WHORE WITH NO VALUES YOU'LL BURN IN HELL MOTHERFUCKER part;

Do I have a boyfriend? yes I do,
Do I go to places/travel with him? yes, sometimes.
Do I sleep in the same bed with him? NO, OFCOURSE NOT. (but if you do, its your choice and it's completely ok)

..as do most of the people my age. I just have a very exposed life in comparison to others given my social media activities.
I see cousins and relatives my age travelling with their partners on Path and I'm chirping at how cute they are, yet their family members talk about my PROM photos with a male.

It's fucking ridiculous.

I'm sorry for the long post, I really need to get this off my chest.
I hope I didn't bore you.