Sunday, November 2, 2014

Jakarta Halloween Festival 2014

I'm 21! WHAT?
I know right!

I spent my entire birthday on 1 presentation and 1 test, and the remaining sleeping because I was utterly exhausted. I did get pretty rad gifts from friends and family.

but yada, yada, yada,
you know why Halloween's my favorite day of the year? because no matter how sucky my birthday ends up (and trust me, I've had one too many birthdays that ended up with me crying myself to sleep) I have like this one more fun night do-over. Which is INCREDIBLE.

This year, I stumbled across a post on Instagram that promoted the first ever Halloween festival in my hometown. I immediately leaped outta joy to see whoever wanted to come with. Since it is a day after my birthday, it's pretty easy to get my favorite people to go. The crew (Tan, Nazneen and Shahnaz) said yes and I planned my costume immediately.

I had so many ideas, including Hogwarts student, A Cat, Bellatrix Lestrange (tough choice because I had no time to prepare the costume) and Emily from Corpse Bride (difficult costume too.)

I ended up as a cat because it's the easiest. (and most overrated in the world, apparently)
I drove to Senayan for a few hours, once we got there and found Tanya waiting in the dark side (figuratively and literally), we purchased the tickets and waited to come in. As we wait in front of the gate, I heard a few people calling and chanting my name. I turned around to see that few of my friends from youtube/indovidgram there. I spotted Chandra, Devina and Aulion, first and Vendry, Bena and a few others after.

We went to check out the scare zone first, where there were "ghosts" running around acting possessed. One literally screamed in my ear with a chainsaw! IT WAS COOL.

The only thing is that, since it's dark, it was hard trying to capture photos of things!
In the Safe Zone, people sit around and enjoy food from the small vendors surrounding the place. The atmosphere is very festival-like. Which is wonderful. Everyone seemed to put effort into their costume, which is very comforting in the strangest way.

I met my friend Anna, whom I've lured into coming a few days earlier (muahahaha), with her sister Norma and a few of her lovely friends.

We visited the Japanese Maze which was very strange, with awkward Japanese ghost. It was uncomfortable, not gonna lie. Haha. Anna had to go early though, wish she had stayed longer!

(although not visible, I had on:
Tight Black Bodycon Dress with Tutu
A black skirt to make the dress longer
My mum's Net Stockings 
Kitty Lace Ear from Primark
Choker from H&M


I joined Aulion, Bena, Dina and Dhino in queuing for the haunted house (where I was terrified and only held Bena's shoulders from behind and look down the entire time!) before joining everyone back in the Safe Zone.
Dina and Dhino should've really told me that it wasn't the time to smile,..
 waiting for the Haunted House took like 45 minutes, damn. 
 The lovely Vendry from moinblog.com and the super-tall-and-pretty Caca! 
 Marlo is in a strange mood, I believe. (Devina, great photobomb, darle!)
 Kitty nose completely gone by this point. 

For more pics and details on the event, refer to: @JKTHalloweenFestival on Instagram and for more with details of the food included, go check moinblog.com out!
had a fun night, looking forward to next year's! x

How was your Halloween? 
What did you choose to channel?
Hope it was awesome!

x, Nessie

Monday, October 13, 2014

" Monday morning,  
you've had tears running down your cheek, 
honey don't let it destroy your entire week, 
little did you know, it was gonna be sick, 
so don't you ruin it for some random dick. "

greetings from me,
it's Monday morning, I'm writing this during the break of Operation Management class, it's become sort of a habit for me isn't it, writing during class break?
I had a rather interesting weekend, which others would refer to as "normal weekend", but anything other than sitting in my room is preferred.
I went to another running event, as participant and not volunteer this time, with 4 other friends (yes, Tan is one of them. of. effin'. course. like this blog hasn't had enough of her face in it. haha! kidding!)
The running part was awful, -we were basically running among vehicles- but the rave party was fun.
THE NEXT MORNING THOUGH,
I woke up early on my friend's couch, Tan was in the bedroom and after an hour of stretching, half-an-hour of complaining and another hour of TV, we left the apartment in attempt to find breakfast.
We settled in one of the only few cafés that were open and although it's pretty (and photogenic) it just felt really silly when you think about how, today, we spend more time taking photos of our food than actually eating it, then we spend more time thinking which one is good enough that we forget to enjoy it.

I mean, if you actually enjoy food-photography it's awesome, and if it makes you happy, then do it!
but it's sort of sad if you go to places you can barely afford just to impress people you barely like. 
just do what makes you happy, 
don't be pressured to have manufactured objectives the society demands. 
eat what you like, do what you like, what's good for you, whether they're instagram-worthy or not. 
"with enough coffee, I could rule the world."
precisely,
I just happen to like Coffee very much, this particular one was delicious too.

x, Nessie







Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Being in University and Fun Things

Ola, friends!

Now, I know I haven't been around, juggling between personal life, Youtube & School is tough!
Talking about School (University to be exact but I go to business school, so I'm allowed to call it school, teehee), I feel like in Indonesia, going to University is still something people value very much, which is utterly great. In other countries with social/monetary security (like USA), people tend to think they should just work right away, because University isn't worth the money they will get afterwards. In Indonesia, to secure your place in the globalized country with tough competition, you need more than just passion for your work.
University here varies in prices too, I'm sure you, reading this, can afford one.
I fully support post-highschool study, I think it's important to enhance your skills, and ayee, University isn't so bad either! These are things that make it different than High School:
1. You have your group of friends and aren't pressured to befriend anyone you don't like because everyone is doing their own thing, you're likely to find people with the same interest.
2. Professor don't chase you around for homework like teachers do.
3. Nor do they care if you missed a class.
4. You are responsible for your own time management, whether it is about studying, being late or missing class. 
5. There isn't a set schedule from 7.00 to 16.00 every single day.
6. It also means you easily lie about work schedule to your parents (oops!)
7. Hanging out on school nights are also possible! (;
8. College kids are hella stingy, you'll learn to save your money to the cents too!
9. You'll be surrounded by people with the same interest with you at ALL TIME.
10. Professors don't treat you like children at all, no matter how young you are!
11. INTERNSHIPS! (<- so nerve-wracking but very very fun!)
12. You're an adult now, concentrate on your favorite things because you don't have to care about irrelevant subjects you MUST take back in High School!


SOME FUN THINGS TO DO WITH YOUR UNI FRIENDS!
(party, volunteering for flood victims, music fesitval, dinner with CEO, beach getaway, MetroTV studio, meeting the one and only Najwa Shihab (I also met Joko Anwar that night!), trip to Singapore, Unilever Indonesia company visit, shooting advertisement, running orientation for new students, bowling!)

As you may know, I go to a Business School despite my massive interest in the entertainment and fashion industry, I figure sometimes you should highlight what you need instead of what you want, and balances the best of both world. That's sort of the basis of what made me choose my degree. Choosing a degree isn't easy, for me to finally chose mine required a lot of sleepless nights, tears and screaming (oh, trust me, I'm not exaggerating!) 

Guys, trust me, I get your fear of choosing the wrong thing and being stuck with it, I recommend you to go see someone non-bias (not your parents, because they have expectations!) like online counseling or at school, join seminars and keep an open-mind. 
Also, join events such as this upcoming UNSW Open Days in Indonesia & Singapore which could help you decide on one of the most exciting experiences of your life. Check out this >> VIDEO << to learn more about what it is and when the event is.

All and all, I wish you the best of luck, 
share this post with anyone who needs it and encourage everyone to keep studying, 
we're never too old or young to spare our time for education! Xxx

x, Nessie